EssayGrader vs CoGrader:
A Fact-Checked Feature Comparison (2026)
CoGrader published a comparison page that claims EssayGrader wins zero out of 26 categories. We fact-checked every row against both products' live documentation. Almost all the claims are factually wrong. This page corrects the record with sourced evidence for every feature.
Last updated: September 2026. Every claim links to its source.
Feature comparison table
Pricing
100 essays/mo. No credit card required.
100 essays/mo. No credit card required.
Pro (350 essays)
$14.99/mo billed annually / $19.99/mo billed monthly
Premium (800 essays)
$34.99/mo annual / $49.99/mo monthly
$15/mo billed annually
$19/mo billed monthly
(350 essays)
Per teacher seat ($134.28/ teacher /year). Accepts POs and provides W9 forms.
Per student ($4.50/student /year). Accepts POs and provides W9 forms.
$6,714/year (50 teachers). 25% cheaper year 1, ~40% cheaper year 2+.
$9,000/year with 20% first-year discount. Renews at $11,250 (list price).
Included: live 1-hour PD session at no extra cost.
Not mentioned
Grading accuracy
94% criterion-level agreement, 22,000+ essays, 8 assessment programs, public methodology
No published benchmark
Published: 0.79 avg QWK vs 0.70 human-to-human
Not published
99% within 10% across 3 passes (940 essays)
Not published
83% of suggestions give a strategy, not just a correction; 95% within one grade band
Not published
Rubrics and standards
800+ rubrics
Not stated
All 50 states, Common Core, AP, IB
CCSS, TEKS, STAAR, Florida B.E.S.T., CAASPP, NY Regents, AP/IB (does not claim all 50 states)
GCSE, A-Level, IB, Cambridge, Australian, Canadian, NZ, Singapore
Not explicitly stated
AP Lang, AP LIt, AP History, IWA, (DBQ, LEQ, SAQ)
AP Lang, AP History (DBQ, LEQ, SAQ)
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Grading features
Yes
Yes
Yes: upload 2-3 pre-scored essays to calibrate AI to your scoring style and pattern
No
Yes
No
Yes: attach assignment prompts, source texts, class readings
No stated equivalent
Yes
Yes
Yes: scanned PDF, auto-split by student, transcribes cursive and print
Yes: photos or scans
Yes (Premium and School plans only)
2-10 min, transcribed then scored)
No
Yes
Yes
Writing Intelligence Layer : class-wide patterns, student writing growth profiles, reteach list etc.
(available on Pro, Premium and School Tiers.)
Class analytics (School/District tier only)
Yes, every score reviewed before reaching students
Yes
Hattie and Timperley research-based model
8 named formats (Glow and Grow, Two Stars and a Wish, Rose Bud Thorn, WWW/EBI, and 4 others)
Feedback and reports
Yes
Yes
Yes (included on all plans)
Yes (Standard+)
Yes, sentence-level (Pro, Premium and School/District tiers)
Yes (Standard+ tier)
Yes: web sources and in-class peer submissions
Yes
LMS integrations
Native two-way sync (Pro+ tier, from $19.99/mo)
Native two-way sync (all tiers including free)
Native two-way sync (Pro+, from $19.99/mo)
Integration (Schools & Districts tier, institutional purchase required)
Native, since April 2026 (Pro tier, $19.99/mo)
Integration (Schools & Districts tier, institutional purchase required)
Not available
File import/export only (not a native integration)
Privacy and compliance
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Not explicitly stated
Not stated
Yes
SOC-2 aligned data practices (certification in progress)
Type 1 certified, published audit
Yes
Not explicitly stated
4.1.5 completed, on file
Not stated
Yes
Not stated
Yes
Yes, contractually guaranteed
Yes (100+ schools, 30+ states)
Yes
Yes (School/District tier)
Yes
Scale
200,000+
100,000+
10,000+
16,000+
3.5M+
2.5M+
4.8/5
Not stated
4.5/5
4.3/5
Bootstrapped by former and current teachers
Berkeley SkyDeck, Microsoft, Google
Yes (School/District tier)
Yes
Not published
Not published
Corrections to CoGrader's comparison page
CoGrader's page at /compare/cograder-vs-essaygrader/ contains several factual errors about EssayGrader. Each correction below includes the source.
State standards: "STAAR only"
CoGrader's page states EssayGrader only supports STAAR. This is factually incorrect. Our rubric library has been covering rubrics from all 50 U.S. states, Common Core, AP, IB, GCSE, A-Level, Cambridge, and rubrics from Australia, Canada, New Zealand, and Singapore.
AP exam rubrics: "not supported"
CoGrader's page claims AP rubrics as unavailable on EssayGrader. That is factually incorrect - EssayGrader supports AP Lang, AP Lit, and AP History (DBQ, LEQ, SAQ).
Schoology integration: "not supported"
CoGrader's page states EssayGrader does not support Schoology. EssayGrader launched native Schoology integration in April 2026. Note: CoGrader's own Schoology integration requires a School/District tier (institutional purchase). EssayGrader offers it on the Pro plan at $14.99/month.
Handwritten essay grading: "not supported"
CoGrader's page marks handwritten grading as unavailable. EssayGrader grades handwritten essays from scanned PDFs, automatically splits submissions by student, and transcribes cursive and print.
DPA signing: "not supported"
CoGrader's page states EssayGrader cannot sign data privacy agreements. EssayGrader has signed DPAs with 100+ schools across 30+ U.S. states as of July 2026.
Published accuracy:
why methodology matters
EssayGrader's AI Grading Accuracy Center publishes six studies:
Teacher Agreement Benchmark (July 2026)
94% criterion-level agreement on 22,000+ essays across 8 programs (STAAR, B.E.S.T., MCAS, PSSA/Keystone, NY Regents, Smarter Balanced, ASAP 2.0, College Board AP).
State-Assessment Alignment (Aug 2026)
0.75 avg QWK across 6 state programs. Top: 0.84 Florida B.E.S.T. 96% within 1 point at criterion level.
AI vs. Human Raters (July 2026)
Met or exceeded human-to-human agreement on all 4 programs (0.79 avg vs 0.70 human-to-human).
Grading Consistency (Jan 2026)
99% within 10% across 3 passes on 940 essays. 63% identical all 3 times.
Feedback Quality (June 2026)
83% give a strategy, not just a correction. 95% within one grade band.
Acknowledged limitations
Creative writing may score lower. Under 75 words is unreliable. AI detection is a signal, not a verdict.
Teacher calibration: teaching the AI how you grade
EssayGrader lets teachers upload 2-3 previously graded exemplar essays alongside their rubric. The system learns the teacher's scoring patterns and applies that calibration across the class set. Teachers can also attach assignment prompts, source texts, and class readings so the AI grades in context.
CoGrader's calibration is rubric-based: the teacher selects a rubric and the AI scores against it. CoGrader does not offer exemplar-based calibration or context attachment.
For teachers who have found AI feedback too generic, calibration from examples means the AI's feedback voice is closer to the teacher's own.
District pricing: up to 40% lower cost
A school district (2,500 students, 50 teachers) received quotes from both EssayGrader and CoGrader in the same procurement cycle (July 2026). The numbers speak for themselves.
Per student
$9,000 (first year, with 20% discount)
$11,250 (list price, discount expires)
$180/year (discounted) / $225/year (list)
Not separately itemized
The structural difference
EssayGrader prices per teacher seat. CoGrader prices per student ($4.50/student). In a district with 2,500 students and 50 teachers, the per-student model costs significantly more. CoGrader’s 20% "first-year discount" brings year one closer, but it renews at full list price ($11,250), widening the gap to ~40% from year two onward.
For budget-conscious districts
EssayGrader's pricing includes live professional development training at no extra cost. Over a three-year contract, a district saves roughly $11,900 compared to CoGrader's list pricing.
Source: District procurement documents from the 2026-2027 school year purchasing cycle.
Where CoGrader has the edge
A credible comparison names where the competitor wins.
SOC 2 Type 1 certification.
CoGrader claims SOC 2 Type 1 certification on its schools and pricing pages. The audit report is not publicly linked. EssayGrader states it adheres to SOC 2 Type 1 and NIST SP 800-53 security practices and has completed HECVAT 4.1.5 for higher-education procurement. For districts where SOC 2 certification is a procurement checkbox, CoGrader meets that today.
IES federal research grant.
CoGrader received a $460,190 Seedlings to Scale Phase I grant from the Institute of Education Sciences (Award R305J250071, September 2025 to September 2026) for "CoGrader 2.0: Accelerating Student Writing Proficiency through AI-Assisted Personalized Feedback at Scale." For districts that weigh federally funded research validation in procurement decisions, this is a differentiator.
Eight feedback formats.
CoGrader offers Glow and Grow, Two Stars and a Wish, Rose Bud Thorn, WWW/EBI, and four others. EssayGrader follows the Hattie and Timperley research-based model. Teachers who want to match a specific school-wide feedback protocol may prefer CoGrader's variety.
Where EssayGrader has the edge
Published, independently verifiable grading accuracy.
Six published studies, 22,000+ essays, public methodology. CoGrader has testimonials; EssayGrader shows its work. (Full breakdown in the accuracy section above.)
Teacher calibration from graded examples.
Upload 2-3 previously scored essays and the AI learns your scoring patterns, not a generic rubric interpretation. CoGrader does not offer exemplar-based calibration.
International standards coverage.
GCSE, A-Level, Cambridge, Australian, Canadian, New Zealand, and Singapore frameworks in addition to all 50 U.S. states. CoGrader covers U.S. states and AP/IB but does not list international frameworks.
Writing analytics on individual plans.
EssayGrader's Writing Intelligence Layer (student growth profiles, class-wide patterns, reteach priority lists) is available on Pro ($14.99/mo). CoGrader's class analytics require a School/District tier (institutional purchase).
Up to 40% lower district pricing.
In a same-district procurement, EssayGrader cost $6,714/year vs CoGrader's $11,250 list price. EssayGrader prices per teacher seat; CoGrader prices per student. (Full breakdown in the pricing section above.)
1-click essay revision review.
Compare drafts side by side in one click. Ideal for formative assessments where tracking student progress across multiple revisions matters.
Built by educators.
EssayGrader was built by former and current teachers. The team's background is in classrooms, not accelerator programs.
Video and oral exam grading.
2-10 minute recordings, transcribed and scored against a rubric. Available on Premium and School plans. CoGrader does not offer this.
Which tool fits your classroom?
Not available
Not available
Certified with published audit
Not publicly available
US + AP/IB focus
Not available
Available
Requires School/District tier
$4.50/student/year. 20% first-year discount, full price from year 2.
100 essays/mo
Frequently asked questions?
Our answers to the most common questions teachers ask us.
Is EssayGrader more accurate than CoGrader?
EssayGrader publishes a criterion-level accuracy benchmark: 94% agreement with teacher scores on 22,000+ essays across 8 assessment programs, measured per rubric criterion, with a public methodology. EssayGrader's AI also met or exceeded human-to-human rater agreement (0.79 avg QWK vs 0.70). CoGrader references AP-exam-scorer testimonials but has not published a dataset, sample size, or methodology.
EssayGrader publishes a criterion-level accuracy benchmark: 94% agreement with teacher scores on 22,000+ essays across 8 assessment programs, measured per rubric criterion, with a public methodology. EssayGrader's AI also met or exceeded human-to-human rater agreement (0.79 avg QWK vs 0.70). CoGrader references AP-exam-scorer testimonials but has not published a dataset, sample size, or methodology.
Does EssayGrader integrate with Schoology?
Yes. EssayGrader launched native Schoology integration in April 2026, available on the Pro plan ($19.99/month). CoGrader also supports Schoology, but only on the School/District tier (institutional purchase).
Yes. EssayGrader launched native Schoology integration in April 2026, available on the Pro plan ($19.99/month). CoGrader also supports Schoology, but only on the School/District tier (institutional purchase).
Does EssayGrader support handwritten essay grading?
Yes. Teachers upload a scanned PDF of an entire class. EssayGrader splits it by student automatically and transcribes cursive and print. CoGrader also supports handwritten grading from photos or scans on its Standard plan.
Yes. Teachers upload a scanned PDF of an entire class. EssayGrader splits it by student automatically and transcribes cursive and print. CoGrader also supports handwritten grading from photos or scans on its Standard plan.
Does EssayGrader support state standards beyond Texas STAAR?
Yes. EssayGrader's rubric library covers all 50 U.S. states, Common Core, AP, IB, GCSE, A-Level, Cambridge, and rubrics from Australia, Canada, New Zealand, and Singapore.
Yes. EssayGrader's rubric library covers all 50 U.S. states, Common Core, AP, IB, GCSE, A-Level, Cambridge, and rubrics from Australia, Canada, New Zealand, and Singapore.
Is EssayGrader cheaper than CoGrader for schools?
Yes. In a side-by-side district procurement (2,500 students, 50 teachers, 2026-2027 school year), EssayGrader's annual cost was $6,714 compared to CoGrader's $9,000 (with a 20% first-year discount) or $11,250 at list price. EssayGrader prices per teacher seat ($134.28/year); CoGrader prices per student ($4.50/year). From year two onward, EssayGrader is approximately 40% less expensive. EssayGrader also includes a live professional development session at no extra cost.
Yes. In a side-by-side district procurement (2,500 students, 50 teachers, 2026-2027 school year), EssayGrader's annual cost was $6,714 compared to CoGrader's $9,000 (with a 20% first-year discount) or $11,250 at list price. EssayGrader prices per teacher seat ($134.28/year); CoGrader prices per student ($4.50/year). From year two onward, EssayGrader is approximately 40% less expensive. EssayGrader also includes a live professional development session at no extra cost.
How do the free plans compare?
Both offer a free plan, no credit card required. EssayGrader gives new users 100 essays per month to start. For teachers who need more, EssayGrader's Lite plan ($6.99/mo) includes 100 essays/month plus native Google Classroom and Canvas integration. CoGrader's Canvas integration requires the Schools & Districts tier (institutional purchase).
Both offer a free plan, no credit card required. EssayGrader gives new users 100 essays per month to start. For teachers who need more, EssayGrader's Lite plan ($6.99/mo) includes 100 essays/month plus native Google Classroom and Canvas integration. CoGrader's Canvas integration requires the Schools & Districts tier (institutional purchase).
Does EssayGrader have SOC 2 certification?
EssayGrader follows SOC-2 aligned data practices, but is not formally SOC 2 certified. This is primarily because almost all of the Data Processing Agreements (DPAs) for K-12 schools doesn’t require SOC 2, but rather asks for NIST SP 800-53 adherence. EssayGrader adheres to NIST security practices and also publishes a security report on its Trust Center. In addition, EssayGrader has also completed HECVAT 4.1.5 (on file for higher-education procurement) and is FERPA, COPPA, and CCPA compliant. CoGrader holds SOC 2 Type 1 certification with a published third-party audit. Both tools state that student data is never used to train AI models.
EssayGrader follows SOC-2 aligned data practices, but is not formally SOC 2 certified. This is primarily because almost all of the Data Processing Agreements (DPAs) for K-12 schools doesn’t require SOC 2, but rather asks for NIST SP 800-53 adherence. EssayGrader adheres to NIST security practices and also publishes a security report on its Trust Center. In addition, EssayGrader has also completed HECVAT 4.1.5 (on file for higher-education procurement) and is FERPA, COPPA, and CCPA compliant. CoGrader holds SOC 2 Type 1 certification with a published third-party audit. Both tools state that student data is never used to train AI models.
Can EssayGrader sign a data privacy agreement for my school?
Yes. EssayGrader has signed DPAs with 100+ schools across 30+ U.S. states as of July 2026. PO purchasing and W-9 documentation are available on the School/District plan.
Yes. EssayGrader has signed DPAs with 100+ schools across 30+ U.S. states as of July 2026. PO purchasing and W-9 documentation are available on the School/District plan.
What is criterion-level grading accuracy?
Criterion-level accuracy means the AI's score on each individual rubric row matches the teacher's score, not just the total. A tool can get the total right while misreading which criteria earned those points. For students, the difference is between knowing they scored 14/20 and knowing their evidence is strong but their organization needs work. EssayGrader measures and publishes criterion-level agreement. CoGrader does not publish criterion-level data.
Criterion-level accuracy means the AI's score on each individual rubric row matches the teacher's score, not just the total. A tool can get the total right while misreading which criteria earned those points. For students, the difference is between knowing they scored 14/20 and knowing their evidence is strong but their organization needs work. EssayGrader measures and publishes criterion-level agreement. CoGrader does not publish criterion-level data.
Does CoGrader's comparison page accurately describe EssayGrader?
As of September 2026, CoGrader's comparison page contains several factual errors about EssayGrader, including incorrect claims about state standards ("STAAR only"), AP rubrics, Schoology integration, handwritten grading, DPA signing, and teacher review. Each correction is documented on this page with sources.
As of September 2026, CoGrader's comparison page contains several factual errors about EssayGrader, including incorrect claims about state standards ("STAAR only"), AP rubrics, Schoology integration, handwritten grading, DPA signing, and teacher review. Each correction is documented on this page with sources.